Massachusetts Impaired Driving Program

 

MID Referral Form

 

About The Program:

The Massachusetts Impaired Driving (MID) Program is a program for individuals charged with a first offense driving/operating under the influence (DUI/OUI) violation in Massachusetts.

Massachusetts General Law Chapter 90 Section 24D provides the option of attending impaired driving classes as an alternative to a lengthier period of license loss, heavier fines and possible incarceration.

The goal of the program is to reduce the risk of future instances of operating under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol through modifying the behavior and attitudes of program participants. For many, this may include the reduction or elimination of their substance use (alcohol and drugs).

Program Structure:

The program consists of an intake assessment, followed by thirty-two (32) hours of group instruction over sixteen (16) weeks, exposure to self-help groups through attending two meetings in the community (AA/NA, etc.), and a victim impact presentation. At the end of the program, an exit interview is conducted. A discharge summary will include recommendations for other services along with referrals for those services. Referrals can be made for anyone interested in further treatment or other supportive services.

Program Fees:

As of 03/01/2021, the current cost of the program is $910.96. This rate is set by the Rate Setting Commission for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, and is subject to adjustment at the discretion of the Commission.

Payment Options:

Three options are available for payment of program fees, they are:

OPTION A – Full payment of $910.96

OPTION B – Down payment of $410.96, followed by two (2) payments of $250 at Week 5 and Week 10

OPTION C – Down payment of $410.96, followed by ten (10) payments of $50  for the first 10 weeks of the program.

If you are unable to pay the program fees, please contact the referring court, your attorney or probation officer for assistance. You may apply for a court waiver. You will need to meet eligibility requirements and provide documentation.  A copy of the waiver, signed by a judge, must be presented to SSTAR in order for your fees to be waived.

Making Credit Card / Debit Card Payments:

To make a payment by credit card or debit card, please call (508) 329-0358  or (508)235-7070 with your payment information.

All groups will be conducted over Zoom until further notice. Please visit https://sstar-org.zoom.us/ for more information, including documentation, downloads and support options.

Visit our contact page for locations and phone numbers. If you need a department contact go here.